The Federal Council initiates consultation on automatic exchange of information with twelve more partner states

On 3 December 2021, the Federal Council initiated the consultation on the introduction of the automatic exchange of financial account information (AEOI) with twelve additional states and territories. The AEOI is scheduled to enter into force on 1 January 2023, and the first exchange of data should take place in 2024. By expanding its AEOI network, Switzerland is reaffirming its commitment to compliance with international standards.

Strengthening the integrity and transparency of the financial centre and combating illicit financial flows are part of the Federal Council’s financial market policy. This should ensure that the Swiss financial centre remains a world-leading, modern and globally active financial centre. With the introduction of the automatic exchange of information with emerging market and developing economies, Switzerland is committed to international standards to combat financial crime, tax evasion, money laundering and corruption.

Against this backdrop, the Federal Council is proposing that the AEOI be additionally agreed with the following twelve states and territories: Ecuador, Georgia, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Montenegro, Moldova, Morocco, New Caledonia, Thailand, Uganda and Ukraine. Before the first exchange of data with these partner states, the Federal Council will once again examine whether the requirements of the AEOI standard – especially data security and confidentiality – are met.


Corporate Information

Metrika AG
Zurich office: Bleicherweg 50
8002 Zurich, Switzerland.
Telephone No.: +41 (0)44 512 5004

Altdorf office: Rathausplatz 5
6460 Altdorf, Switzerland.
Telephone No.: +41 (0)41 510 2029

Lugano office: Via Somaini 10
6900 Lugano, Switzerland.
Telephone No.: +41 (0)91 210 5700

Email address: